Nightfall – Distorted Reality

The Nightfall duo, DJ Jeffrey and producer Sven, were signed to Fusion quite recently. Around the time ‘Distorted Reality’ was released on the 2nd of November 2015, it also managed to gain the support of Digital Punk on Unleashed 032.

Compared to Nightfall’s first EP release with Fusion, ‘Boom Like’ and ‘No Surrender’, ‘Distorted Reality’ is a pretty big improvement. To make a specific example, their first EP placed too much reliance overpowering, high-pitched melodic segments. Fortunately, ‘Distorted Reality’s melody was more twisted and compressed, allowing the powerful kicks to have the attention they deserve. There were even moments where Nightfall isolated elements or turned it down to create suspense, before bringing up the volume to create an impact. This is a rather simple effect to apply, and some may think of it as a cliche. However, I think the dark force contained within the track had such a strong ability to engage its audience, that they could easily let that slide. I know I’d just be super keen to get to the point where everything is at its loudest whenever that happens. Nightfall certainly knows how to keep the party people on a hook!

Side note: I thought I already wrote about this track, but I didn’t! I was so sure that I even did a search on my own blog to make sure. Usually, when I repeat something a lot, I have every intention of writing about it afterwards. I was probably either too busy or just forgot about it. Anyway, I’m glad I remembered!

Leave a Reply

