Bass Modulators – Our Dreams

The melodic sounds of Bass Modulators are sensational and at times, hypnotizing. Their most repeated track on my iPod of all time is their ‘Anthem of Summer’. Even in the coldest winter’s nights, the track can instantly make me think of warm rays of sunlight. Today, I noticed that they were responsible for composing this year’s Dream Village 2015 anthem. After listening to a whole lot of monotonous Hardstyle releases, this certainly gave me some much needed relief.

I adore the free, adventurous and positive theme of this song. The wording of the lyrics were well written and chosen. That is, if you exclude the slight disconnection between the lyrical declaration “I will never ever give you up” and “we’re running wild…”. It really suits the vibe of an outdoor festival, where everyone can dance to their hearts’ content in a huge, grassy field. Definitely worthy of being sung by a huge crowd.

Although their ability to compose wonderful melodies and lyrics does not leave room for much doubt, there was a down side to the track: There were re-used high-pitch notes and synthesising techniques between the vocal parts. All you have to do is compare it to the choruses of Atmozfears’ ‘Release‘ (released a few months before ‘Our Dreams’), Adrenalize’s remix of ‘Starlight‘, and Bass Modulators’ very own ‘Oxygen‘. It even reminded me of Code Black’s releases ‘Starting Over‘ and ‘New World‘.

Is this recycling phenomenon good news for all the DJs who want to link tracks in a set? Are the producers just following a formula of success? Is it just a trend that will pass? Or, if it will pass, how much longer do I have to wait for it to evolve? I don’t know. Maybe, remembering too many details of Hardstyle tracks like this makes me an absolute party pooper. After all, ‘Our Dreams’ is not bad to the point where I’d walk away, so I can still convince myself to enjoy it. Not to mention, I’m sure the people who love getting drunk at festivals all the time won’t even notice, right? Maybe some people would hope so.

Leave a Reply

